Steady growth in South Baltimore led to a petition for a market here in 1838. The first market building, a long open-air shed erected in 1845-46, extended along Cross Street between Charles and Patapsco. In 1864, an identical building was erected to the east, doubling the amount of market space. Five years later, the first market building was condemned and the City Commissioned Frank Davis, local Baltimore architect, to design a new structure on the same site. Davis' market, designed in the Italianate Style, featured a large public hall on the second story, which served the community as a gathering place for public meetings, recreation and entertainment.
On market days, farmers set up stalls and tents on Cross Street, attracting such crowds that the police erected wooden towers at each end of the market to direct traffic. In 1951, the market and much of Cross Street burned to the ground. The present structure was built in 1952.Cross Street Market was built to serve the growing area south of Hanover Market. The market is located in historic Federal Hill and four blocks from the Inner Harbor and the downtown business district. The market is surrounded by charming 19th century homes and caters to homeowners, business people and tourists. Cross Street Market remains open until 7 PM, to serve the flourishing Federal Hill community. Nick’s Seafood, famous for its happy hour, is open until 11 PM on Friday and Saturday’s and open on Sundays from 12 PM - 6 PM. The Cross Street Market is 29,803 s.f.